Site menu:


Prison Education Program
Cornell University
300 Kennedy Hall
Ithaca, NY 14853


Our People

Executive Director
Robert Scott joined the Cornell Prison Education Program in August 2013, bringing extensive experience from the founding of a college-in-prison program in Illinois.

Faculty Director
Sam Nelson is Director of Forensics and Senior Lecturer of Labor Relations, Law, and History in Cornell’s School of Industrial and Labor Relations; he leads the Cornell Speech & Debate Program, a weekly debate at McCormick and Finger Lakes Residential Centers, and more recently has helped form a debate team at Auburn Correctional Facility.

Academic Director
Robert Eap recently joined the Cornell Prison Education Program to oversee the academic programming in the prisons we serve. He holds a PhD in American Studies & Ethnicity from the University of Southern California and brings experience overseeing educational programing in the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation.

Program Staff
Kyri Murdough, Program Coordinator – Auburn Correctional Facility
Nicole Peppin, Program Coordinator – Cayuga Correctional Facility
Jessica Brewer, Program Coordinator – Five Points Correctional Facility
Cathi Root, Administrative Assistant

Advisory Board
Judith Appleton, Vice-Provost
Amber Aspinall ’17
Bridget Brew, PhD candidate, Sociology
Alex Chertok, Ithaca College Visiting Faculty, English
John Crutchfield, former CPEP student from Auburn CF
Christian French, Hudson Link for Higher Education in Prison
Sandra Greene, Professor, History
Anna Haskins, Assistant Professor, Sociology
Willie Marshall ’14
Ken McClane, Professor Emeritus, English
Jamila Michener, Assistant Professor, Government
Sam Nelson, Director of Forensics and Senior Lecturer, Industrial and Labor Relations
Nancy Quintanilla, PhD candidate, English/Literature
Raymond Roe, CPEP alumnus
Deborah Streeter, Bruce F. Failing, Sr., Professor of Personal Enterprise, Dyson School
Alison Van Dyke, Senior Lecturer, Performing and Media Arts


New York City Advisory Committee
Erica Roizen Belsky ’04
Penelope Chick, Cornell AA&D
Christian French ’95
Margaret Henry ’14
Harriet Gluckman P ’04, ’07
Fred Mehlman ’74, P ’04, ’07
Ellen Roizen, P ’04, ’08
Remy Roizen Weinstein ’08 Co-Chair
Joel Rudin ’74
Michelle-RenĂ©e Smith PhD ’09
Kathryn Solomon ’14
Elliot Wertheimer ’12
Lisa Wertheimer ’08, ’11 Co-Chair
Robert Wertheimer ’76, P ’08, ’11, ’12